Skip to content

Ayers admits writing “Dreams From My Father” – American Thinker

October 6, 2009

October 07, 2009

Ayers admits writing “Dreams From My Father”

By James Simpson

Last Friday we posted an article on these pages asserting Bill Ayers’ authorship of President Barack Obama’s ‘Dreams From My Father,’ based on claims made by Obama biographer Christopher Andersen. It is possible that we have now gotten direct confirmation of this from Bill Ayers himself.

Anne Leary of Back Yard Conservative was passing through Washington, DC’s Reagan National Airport yesterday, and was surprised to come across Bill Ayers at Starbucks: “scruffy, thinning beard, dippy earring, and the wire rims, heading to order.”

She struck up a conversation with him and snapped the accompanying photo. (I interviewed Anne about it, and thank her for permission to run the photo she took.)

AyersNewAyers was in Washington, he told her, for a conference on education.

“That’s what I do, education,” he said. “You shouldn’t believe everything you hear about me… You know nothing about me.”

To which she responded, “I said, I know plenty–I’m from Chicago, a conservative blogger, and I’ll post this.”

I bet his heart skipped a beat on that one.

But he didn’t scowl, and didn’t run off as he has been known to do. Instead, unprompted, he blurted out: “I wrote ‘Dreams From My Father… Michelle asked me to.” Then he added “And if you can prove it we can split the royalties.”

Anne responded, “Stop pulling my leg!”

But he repeated insistently, “I wrote it, the wording was similar [to Ayers’ other writing.]”

Anne responded, “I believe you probably heavily edited it.”

Ayers stated firmly, “I wrote it.”

via American Thinker: Ayers admits writing Dreams.

3 Comments
  1. clarespark permalink
    October 7, 2009 10:13 AM

    When I read Dreams From My Father, I suspected that several persons had either strongly edited it or wrote different chapters. The book did not have a consistent voice, and any alert reader should have been able to spot it.

  2. Richard Ketchum permalink
    October 7, 2009 11:02 AM

    I wish the net and the blogs had existed during the first Clinton term, we might have been spared the second.

  3. Gary from Jersey permalink
    October 7, 2009 11:40 AM

    Old news. Oxford University language experts last year compared Obama’s writing with Ayers and determined that Ayers wrote most of it. Sorry I don’t have the link. It was in a British newspaper.

Comments are closed.

